Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Dire Straits - Hammersmith Odeon July 23rd, 1983

Hammersmith Odeon, London, UK, July 23rd, 1983


Disc 1

1. Stargazer
2. Once upon a time in the west
3. Industrial disease
4. Expresso love
5. Romeo and Juliet
6. Love over gold
7. Private investigations
8. Sultans of swing

Disc 2

1. Twisting by the pool
2. Two young lovers
3. Portobello belle
4. Tunnel of love
5. Telegraph road
6. Solid rock
7. The rocks and the thunder
8. Going home

The last concert of the LOG Tour, besides from being the night Alchemy was recorded Sound quality is great, but being an audience recording, it really gets you the Atmosphere of the concert. Apart from the tracks that did not make the final cut for the Alchemy Album (Industrial disease, Twisting by the Pool, great version, by the way, Portobello Belle and the Expreso love, which this version is absolutely great and different than the one in the Money for nothing Compilation album) there are certain differences between the Alchemy Album, the Alchemy video and this audience recording, like Mark’s speech before Romeo and Juliet, which is in this recording, but was edited out from the Album and video. The Speech Mark says at the End of Carousel Waltz, before Tunnel of love which is on the VHS or Laserdisc, but not on the official Alchemy album, the end of Solid rock is from the day before, July 22th, and so are the words Mark says to the audience before playing Going Home. Little differences that make this a very enjoyable Audience recording.

Support Mark, Buy ALCHEMY on CD

Part 1 Part 2